Loading ads...
No ads

Overview of Mount Sinai Beth Israel

A teaching hospital founded in 1889 on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, Mount Sinai Beth Israel is notable for its unique approach to combining medical excellence with clinical innovation. We have recruited world-class specialists to expand services in heart disease, cancer, neurology, and orthopedics. We also continue our long tradition of excellence in medical specialties, including gastrointestinal disease, chemical dependency, psychiatric disorders, pain management and palliative care, and HIV/AIDS research and treatment. We have also significantly advanced our commitment to community-based ambulatory care and expanding patient access to primary and specialty care.

Total beds: 701

Hospital Type: Acute Care Hospital

No of Affiliated Doctors: 1185

Website: http://www.bethisraelny.org/

Affiliated Providers :
Show all 1185 doctors

Patient ratings

of Mount Sinai Beth Israel

Overall

(4.7/5)

Doctor's care

(4.6/5)

Nursing care

(4.6/5)

Food Services

(4.5/5)

Speciality Summary

Pulmonology ( Lungs )

(4.8/5)

Medical admission

(4.7/5)

Maternity or Gynaecology

(4/5)

ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

(4.8/5)

Gastroenterology (Stomach)

(2.5/5)

Emergency Room

(4.7/5)

Dermatology ( Skin )

(5/5)

Eye Care

(4.8/5)

Psychiatry

(5/5)

Orthopaedics (Bones and Joints)

(5/5)

Surgery

(4.5/5)

Cardiology (Heart Problems)

(5/5)

Urology

(4.5/5)

Medicare Quality data

The Medicare quality data presented below is derived from the www.cms.gov hospital compare data. Star ratings are limited in scope to the data sources they are derived from. The Hospital Compare overall hospital rating summarizes a variety of measures across 7 areas of quality into a single rating for each hospital.


Overall rating

(1/5)

Patient Experience

(1/5)

Safety of care

(1/5)

Timeliness of care

(1/5)

Staying out of Hospital after treatment

(3/5)


Above national average

Same as national average

Below national average

Patient Experience (HCHAPS) data from Medicare


This data is based on HCAHPS survey by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (www.cms.gov).The HCAHPS survey is administered to a random sample of adult patients across medical conditions between 48 hours and 6 weeks after discharge; the survey isn't restricted to Medicare beneficiaries. Hospital Compare currently reports results for the categories listed below.    

64% Patients that would definitely recommend ( 8% lower than the national average )

Patient reviews of Mount Sinai Beth Israel

pic970
Reviewer
09-14-2020

Services Used:

Excellent hospital with super top notch physicians, caring and dedicated staff!

  • Date Visited 07-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

don796867
06-15-2020

Services Used: Urology

The care I have received by both day and night staff was been excellent

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dve412
06-12-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Very neat hospital with superb medical team

  • Date Visited 06-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

...
hen964
06-12-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

I found the medical care to be very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Date Visited 03-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

kin504
05-09-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

The staff was friendly respectful professional And very kind

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

div268
Reviewer
04-28-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

Appointments go as scheduled. Although it is a busy office, everything runs smoothly and on time!

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

div268
Reviewer
04-28-2020

Services Used: Cardiology (Heart Problems)

This entire clinic goes above and beyond to engage with the patients making them feel welcome and comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

smi295
04-26-2020

Services Used: Surgery

Nice one! I like the way I was attended to.

  • Date Visited 06-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

kin276
04-21-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Really good hospital, highly recommended!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Maybe

jjc486
Reviewer
04-17-2020

Services Used: Orthopaedics (Bones and Joints)

Not fully knowing what to expect, but from checking to medical review and procedures, the process went smoothly, and efficiently.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

tre817
Reviewer
04-09-2020

Services Used: Psychiatry

This healthcare team are always warm and welcoming and extremely professional!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

leo159
Reviewer
04-07-2020

Services Used: Pulmonology ( Lungs )

The team here at this office come across professional and always willing to listen to my concerns. Overall, I have trust with them Doctor and their staff!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

tom443
Reviewer
04-03-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

Pleasant office environment. I highly recommend this place without thinking it twice!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

tom443
Reviewer
04-03-2020

Services Used: Dermatology ( Skin )

They took time to look at my situation and talk with me about what they found. Very compassionate.

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

jon562
Expert
04-02-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

I am happy, thanks for great service

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

jon150
04-02-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

I am happy for using this service :)

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

car254
Reviewer
04-01-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

Amazingly simple and painless. A really good experience. I'm looking forward to the results.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mus306
03-30-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

A hospital that is awesome service provider, Recommended to all

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

guy179
Advisor
03-30-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

Awesome service provider, Recommended to all

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

fec213
Reviewer
03-30-2020

Services Used: Gastroenterology (Stomach)

Very overworked nurses who don't really treat patients like unique human beings. I have a neuromuscular disease and speech-impaired. Despite a big sign over my bed explaining that I use an iPad to communicate, the nurses kept my iPad out of reach and laughed at me when I tried to speak.

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: No

sco474
Reviewer
03-30-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Been going there for months, very friendly and competent team, almost no wait, definitely recommended!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

nat800
03-30-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Great location, clean offices, friendly staff, arrived via a referred by a friend!

  • Date Visited 12-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dei310
Advisor
03-29-2020

Services Used: Maternity or Gynaecology

Nice and good hospital, Oval all recommended

  • Date Visited 02-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

bas788
Reviewer
03-29-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful!

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

abr251
Reviewer
03-22-2020

Services Used: Pulmonology ( Lungs )

The most important thing to recommend them is because they're extremely approachable professionals!

  • Date Visited 12-0016
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended:

hug561
Advisor
03-22-2020

Services Used: Pulmonology ( Lungs )

I have never had better medical care from any provider or facility. I was greatly impressed with everyone involved - office staff, nurses and doctors as well!

  • Date Visited 03-0012
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mir575
03-03-2020

Services Used: Eye Care

One of the best hospital i ever seen

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

FAQ's ABOUT HOSPITAL

The outpatient services are available from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. The emergency services are available 24 hours a day.

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

1199 Care to care, Access Medicare, Aetna, Affinity Health Plan, Affinity Health Plan - Essentials Amerigroup HealthPlus, Amidacare, Arch Care Advantage, Arch Care Senior Life, Blue Cross & Blue Shield, Blue Cross & Blue Shield Of New Jersey, Center Light, Commercial Insurances, Cigna, Fidelis, GHI (Emblem Health), Guardian, HealthFirst, HealthFirst - Essentials, HIP Healthcare Partners, HIP Emblem Health, HIP Emblem - Essentials, Magnacare, Medicare, Medicaid of New York, Metroplus, Metroplus Essential, Multiplan, No Fault, Oxford, PHCS, POMCO, Senior Whole Health, United Healthcare, United Healthcare Essential, VNS Choice, Worker's Compensation.

701

1889

The hospital accepts various types of health insurance, but individual coverage may be variable. You should check with your insurance whether the hospital is in network or not. You can make payment via online, cash, credit card or debit card.

First Avenue station

Long Island MacArthur Airport

You can request an appointment with specific doctor on hospital's website or make appointment request on HealthSoul.

Loading ads...
No ads

HEALTHCARE Q&A

Do You Have Questions About Healthcare? ASK A QUESTION

Loading ads...
No ads
Loading ads...
No ads

Privacy Policy

As part of my use of HealthSoul, I acknowledge the use of my information will be processed in accordance with the HealthSoul Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. By clicking "Accept", I am hereby providing consent to this use and agree to all of the terms and conditions.