Loading ads...
No ads

Overview of South Miami Hospital

South Miami Hospital, currently licensed for 453-beds, enjoys an excellent reputation for quality care in many areas, including award-winning maternity services. Our Labor and Delivery Department was the first in Florida to earn Joint Commission certification for pre-term labor and is among one of few in the country with this distinction, Level II and Level III neonatal intensive care services. The NICU unit is one of the largest in South Florida and the first in the state to earn Joint Commission certification for prematurity. It is among one of the only NICU units in the country to earn this distinction, Cardiovascular services., and more.

Total beds: 453

Hospital Type: Acute Care Hospital

No of Affiliated Doctors: 716

Affiliated Providers :
Show all 716 doctors

Patient ratings

of South Miami Hospital

Overall

(4.9/5)

Doctor's care

(4.9/5)

Nursing care

(4.8/5)

Food Services

(4.9/5)

Speciality Summary

Maternity or Gynaecology

(5/5)

Surgery

(5/5)

Medical admission

(5/5)

ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

(5/5)

Rheumatology

(5/5)

Emergency Room

(4.5/5)

Medicare Quality data

The Medicare quality data presented below is derived from the www.cms.gov hospital compare data. Star ratings are limited in scope to the data sources they are derived from. The Hospital Compare overall hospital rating summarizes a variety of measures across 7 areas of quality into a single rating for each hospital.


Overall rating

(1/5)

Patient Experience

(2/5)

Safety of care

(1/5)

Timeliness of care

(1/5)

Staying out of Hospital after treatment

(2/5)


Above national average

Same as national average

Below national average

Patient Experience (HCHAPS) data from Medicare


This data is based on HCAHPS survey by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (www.cms.gov).The HCAHPS survey is administered to a random sample of adult patients across medical conditions between 48 hours and 6 weeks after discharge; the survey isn't restricted to Medicare beneficiaries. Hospital Compare currently reports results for the categories listed below.    

80% Patients that would definitely recommend ( 8% higher than the national average )

Patient reviews of South Miami Hospital

rub330
11-03-2020

Services Used:

Doctors were awesome, no waiting time and no issues when Jillian! Thank you!

  • Date Visited 11-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dia497
Reviewer
04-07-2020

Services Used: Emergency Room

They have helped changed my life in several ways they probably don't even know. Thanks to all of the staff, love you guys. For real!!

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

dia497
Reviewer
04-07-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

Fantastic staff, and the best care. I’d recommend it to anyone and everyone I know.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

...
ann621
Reviewer
04-05-2020

Services Used: Rheumatology

I'm grateful to have found such a positive environment to get my health needs met. Totally satisfied for having such a successful facility!

  • Date Visited 01-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ann621
Reviewer
04-05-2020

Services Used: ENT (Ear , Nose ,Throat)

Staff is kind and professional. They gave me the option to answer a medical history over the phone or in office.

  • Date Visited 04-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

mar319
03-22-2020

Services Used: Medical admission

I recently called to make my annual appointment and was surprised for such quick service and assistance provided

  • Date Visited 03-2020
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ann754
03-21-2020

Services Used: Surgery

As I was facing a chronic back pain I was recommended by a doctor from this hospital to proceed with a breast reduction and absolutely everything resulted as planned. I'm very happy for such treatment

  • Date Visited 03-2019
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ave353
03-21-2020

Services Used: Maternity or Gynaecology

This was the second time where I assisted to this hospital, purposely for a hysterectomy surgery.

  • Date Visited 08-0028
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

ave353
03-21-2020

Services Used: Maternity or Gynaecology

I attended to this hospital for this hospital to be diagnosed of an uterus infection and the future results applied from their side were gratefully done.

  • Date Visited 07-2017
  • Overall Satisfaction

    Care by Doctors
    Care by Nurses
    Hospital Cleanliness
    Hosptial Food services

Recommended: Yes

FAQ's ABOUT HOSPITAL

University of Miami

453

1960

The hospital accepts various types of health insurance, but individual coverage may be variable. You should check with your insurance whether the hospital is in network or not. You can make payment via cash, online, credit card or debit card.

Dadeland North, Train station

Miami International Airport

You can request an appointment with specific doctor on hospital's website or make appointment request on HealthSoul.

Loading ads...
No ads

HEALTHCARE Q&A

Do You Have Questions About Healthcare? ASK A QUESTION

Loading ads...
No ads
Loading ads...
No ads

Privacy Policy

As part of my use of HealthSoul, I acknowledge the use of my information will be processed in accordance with the HealthSoul Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. By clicking "Accept", I am hereby providing consent to this use and agree to all of the terms and conditions.